400 words on eating a BoyChik doughnut

Walking into town today, we all seemed to be holding our breath as one.  Do we dare even hope that doughnut man is in the market today?  Do we even think it?  The walk down Shop Street was almost painful like this.  Trying not to walk too fast, but wanting to sprint at the same time.  The moment of truth arrived when we had to turn down the street the market is on.  A lot of booths were set up which is always a good sign.  We walked past the paintings and carvings, the jewelry and the homemade jams.  And then, at the very end of the line of tents, like a mirage in the desert we spotted the green “BoyChik Doughnut” sign.  Please tell me that he is here to stay and that the wind isn’t making him pack up the minute I approach his tent.  Please don’t tease me with this.  We approached cautiously, almost as if we didn’t believe that he was actually there at all.  “Hello ladies, what can I get for ye?”  Oh my gosh.  May I have one plain sugar, please? “Coming right up.”  He handed me the doughnut and I could have cried. (It was like he just gave me the first piece of apple pie made with fruit picked only hours before from Tougas.)  I honestly just stared at it for a solid thirty seconds.  I’m not even ready to eat this.  Because then when I start eating it, it will start being gone and I don’t know if I can deal with that sort of separation with this doughnut right now.  But I took a bite.  And it was just as delicious as I remembered.  The crispy, fried outside covered in sugar that sticks to your lips.  The doughy, soft but light inside that contrasts with the outside and provides the complexity of the doughnut that is still so simple.  I tried so hard to eat it slowly and savor each bite.  These are not doughnuts that you each six of.  That would only offend just how good they are.  You don’t need coffee or tea with these.  They are not something to dunk.  They are independent of all other food.  I am always shocked when Irish students have not heard about these doughnuts.  What are you doing with your life?  Whatever it is, drop it on a weekend morning and go buy a doughnut.  It’s the best 80 cents you’ll spend that day, I guarantee it.

Oh yeah, I did some other stuff today too.  Finished a book, did a group homework assignment, went for a run.  None of these things are important.  I got my second doughnut.

Peace love and doughnuts.

Cheers for now ♣

Leave a comment