Day 5: it finally rained

We lucked out a lot for the majority of our trip with more sun than I ever could have wished for. On Friday, that finally changed a bit. We made a couple of final purchases (a stop at Butlers and Charlie Byrnes!) downtown in Galway before hopping in the car to head south to Kilarney.

The Burren was along the way, so we made a stop there despite the rain. I couldn’t remember where the bus tour took us when I’d been there before, so we didn’t see the classic table structure that you see in a lot of photos of the Burren, but we still got to see the landscape, which was the main point. Those are what I deemed “Oreo cows” in the picture.

Getting back in the car, I got to have my highly anticipated experience of driving on the left side of the road! Frankly the whole thing wasn’t nearly as challenging as I thought it would be. You can ask Matt how scared he was, though. I took us the rest of the couple hours to Killarney.

Killarney is right on the Ring of Kerry, so there are a lot of attractions around. With the rain, we wanted to find something indoors to start so we hit up Ross Castle.

Despite the rain, we also attempted to see Muckross Abbey that afternoon, but it started pouring so hard that within a few minutes along the path, our pants were soaked and it was no longer an attractive idea. (We were able to see it on Saturday when the rain was more of a mist.)

The rain let up by the time we went to dinner and to a couple of pubs that night. Killarney is considerably less touristy than Dublin or Galway, specifically at the beginning of March. (I’m sure it gets super busy in the summer for folks driving the Ring of Kerry.) We saw a lot more locals at the pubs that night.

Leave a comment